Skip to content

Jim Survives Fantasy Fest 2009

November 5, 2009
jim fantasy fest  with wyland 2 - 10.09

"The Girls" with Jim(center) and Wyland(right)

I have been many places showing my art this past year and seen many things, from Rome to Venice to Las Vegas to New York, and now to Key West Florida during the craziest parade in America: Fantasy Fest.
Aside from the 75,000 people who pile into town to crowd this one famous street: Duvall St., here are a few highlights of my 8 days of art shows in the Wyland Galleries of Key West.
First, it is always my greatest pleasure to be able to spend quality time with my fans and collectors who come from many places to meet me. I was introduced to the famous artist Bill Mack whom I have crossed paths with in the art world many times but never met until now. I body painted for the first time in my life which is something I was always amused by since the 60s but had not yet done  since it was something I couldn’t sell afterward. (joke) (See the painted girls behind me in photo above).
And moving forward with my celebrity Fame Wall project.  I decided I might as well get started on the portrait that I will paint of the Beach Boys which will be unveiled in Hollywood  sometime in 2010. In fact, the Fame Wall video person who happened to be at Fantasy Fest,  taped me beginning the painting. Marine-life artist, Wyland also got his spot on the video wishing the “Boys” a Happy 50th Anniversary and “here’s to 50 more great years of music”.   The upcoming video will be played right before the unveiling of the painting which will be in 2010..
I then introduced my freshly painted “Surfer Girls of Fantasy Fest 2009” to the camera who also wished the Beach Boys a “Happy 50th”.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. Pat Hastings permalink
    November 5, 2009 10:29 pm

    Jim:
    I love your work. This is by far one of my favorites, maybe because
    I can relate to being this girl,even at 53, just floating below the full moon and the rainbow. The ocean is my paradise. The beach my heaven. The economy
    has taken alot from us, but when we get back on our feet, this is a keeper for my beach condo. (as long as I can hang onto it.)Keep up the good work. Pat

  2. Kms permalink
    November 5, 2009 11:16 pm

    Dear Pat,
    Glad that you like my Rainbow Girl.
    Maybe it will still be around when the economy turns so you can put one in your beach house.
    Bye,
    Jim Warren

  3. Samma permalink
    November 6, 2009 9:17 am

    Dear Jim: Your Rainbow Girl is absolutely stunning, I couldn’t agree more with Pat. Its remarkably intriquing, and I’m not sure quite what it is. Perhaps the rainbow colors against the black and white, or the serenity of the woman lying there, looking peaceful. *** I will be missing your wonderful open house, I have to work, but I wish you well and fun times on the 14th. I’m going to change my job so I can attend in the future. :)). Best Wishes to you, Samma
    Now I will finish reading and looking at your blog!!

    • Kms permalink
      November 6, 2009 8:22 pm

      Samma,
      Hi. Glad that you like my new Rainbow Girl. I painted it on a whim at my KeY West show last week.
      Hope to see you next time that I am in the area.
      Thanks,
      Jim

  4. December 4, 2009 11:30 pm

    great blog, i found some fantasy fest 2009 photos here you might enjoy… here

    • Kms permalink
      December 6, 2009 7:04 pm

      Thank you Jack. Bye, Jim

Leave a Reply

