Skip to content

My beginnings as an artist

October 22, 2009

jim child magic

While going through a very old pile of negatives from my childhood, my Mom dug up a couple oldies that I thought were pretty cute and interesting.

I forget sometimes that one of my early childhood dreams was to be a magician, years before I thought about being an artist. I did make many of my own magic tricks which I painted with magic-like designs.

I guess, besides crayon drawings in school, that was my beginning as an artist.

This picture below is me with my teenage “Hell with the rules” attitude.

I am glad that my teen kids don’t have an attitude like I did. I think it’s because I have such an adult ” Hell with the rules” attitude, they rebel by acting normal.

jim child teenager

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    November 4, 2009 4:29 am

    Hello I don’t know if I am doing this right not very computer savy at the moment. Anyway I have been a big fan of your work for a long time my mom bought me a poster of At Sunset a few years ago. I have it framed in my bedroom and still look at it sometimes letting my imagination run its course. I have been telling people about your site but could never get the name right off the top of my head. Now I remember correctly I can tell my co workers about your fantastic artwork. I just love how vivid the details and the colors are. Anyway just wanted it post how big a fan I am and can’t wait to see what other works you come out with

  2. sherrymk permalink
    November 4, 2009 10:34 pm

    Hi Megan,

    We’re happy you found Jim finally and that you are sharing his work with your friends and co workers. That’s what it’s all about.

    “At Sunset” is one of Jim’s most treasured paintings. Visually intense and as you have experienced, allows for one’s imagination to run wild.

Leave a Reply

