Skip to content

Jim meets Alice Cooper…25 years after

October 3, 2009

jim with alice cooper 2009 cropped

Last night  I met with Alice Cooper after his concert in Clearwater, Florida.  It has been 25 years since I painted the  album cover for his  “Raise Your Fist and Yell ” record in 1985.  I decided it was time I met Alice in person, so I  arranged the meeting through my local contacts.

Cooper’s assistant, who addressed  me as that  “Raise Your Fist and Yell guy” placed me and my two kids, Drew and Art, in the front of the line of die hard Cooper fans.  I forgot to charge the battery in my camera( Big Oooops) but Cooper’s fans were happy to take pictures of Alice  and I together and send me the pics!
At  this first face to face meeting between the “King of Shock Rock” and the “Master of Fantasy Art”, we discussed important biz such as whose kids have the messiest room. Alice says his do but I disputed that.
I told Alice and fans this never before told secret of the album cover:
because Alice wasn’t available to pose for the cover, I used my own face for the scream, mixed with Alice’s eyes.  I explained, “It’s a collaboration, like Frankenstein”. Alice replied, “That’s fine, your teeth are probably better than mine anyway”.
I will now be talking to Alice and his assistant further about doing my “Fame Wall” project as I recently did for John Stamos and for which I am gearing up to do with the Beach Boys.
jim with alice and kids 1small
Art Warren, Jim, Alice and Drew Warren

Art Warren, Jim, Alice and Drew Warren

Jim and Alice

Jim and Alice

One Comment leave one →
  1. bruce huntington permalink
    October 7, 2009 7:15 pm

    we had meet and greet vip passes for after the show and I won the special pass to go up on stage and throw out 2 of the balloons for the Schools out finale!!! he was so nice to speak with, autographed 7 items, and we were able to take 5 pictures with him, my wife, and myself!!! a true performer
    Bruce

Leave a Reply

